I’ve always loved a good mince bredie. In fact, when my mum used to make it when I was kid, I’d always know that the family was in for a treat as it’s always been such a well-received dish! The rich flavours of the spiced minced together, with the potato and veggies in it was just so, so good!

I make a pretty mean mince bredie myself, I think! For me, the trick is to get pleeeenty of garlic and ginger in the mix, and to let your potatoes get so soft that they fall apart with just the slightest touch of a fork. Oooooh yesss! I also add in masala, which you might think makes it a curry, but it doesn’t…or at least I don’t think so. Leaf Masala is very flavourful, but takes a lot to make it burn-your-mouth kind of hot. In this recipe we just want the flavour, so don’t worry about burning your tongue off J

Ingredients:

  • 300g steak mince
  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 large potatoes
  • 1 tablspn tomato paste
  • 1 tablespn crushed/chopped garlic
  • 1cm fresh ginger
  • 2 handfuls of frozen mixed vegetables
  • 1 teaspn leaf masala
  • 1 teaspn barbeque spice
  • Salt
  • A tiny bit of pepper (optional)
  • A beef stock cube (optional for additional flavour)

 

 

Method:

  1. In a medium sized pot, braise your onions until translucent, then add in the garlic and ginger for an additional five minutes. Your heat setting should be on medium.
  2. Carefully add in your spices, and enjoy the aromas that come from the pot!
  3. Add in your mince, and cook together until it browns, then add in the tomato paste.
  4. If you are using a stock cube, add it in now, making sure it dissolves in the sauce.
  5. Now, add in your chopped potato pieces, and just enough water to cover the base of your food. I.e., NOT enough water to cover your food.
  6. Allow to cook for about 20 minutes, stirring often and checking on your potatoes.
  7. Get your handfuls of mixed vegetables, and add this to the pot, cooking for a further 10 minutes.
  8. When your potatoes and vegetables are soft, turn off your pot.
  9. Serve with freshly cooked rice.

 

 

Enjoy!

