Some mornings I wake up, dreaming of sweet chocolatey-ness that I just want to wrap myself in! A bit extreme…perhaps, but I do love me some chocolate, especially in the form of Chocolate Brownies!

A little while back, I left my day job and to celebrate the day, I made a batch of brownies, as how else do you say goodbye to a bunch of awesome people, if not with sugar??? Hehe

I didn’t have a recipe on hand, so I searched and searched all over the Internet, until I found one that seemed to hit all the good spots. I made one or two lil tweaks and voila, we now have a super delish brownie that is gooey, bite-in-able, and of course, totally chocolatey.

I think it’s time for another batch!

 

Ingredients:

(Makes about 16 squares)

  • 1 cup of butter
  • 2 cups of sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ½ cups of cake flour
  • 1 cup of cocoa powder
  • ½ tspn baking soda/bicarb
  • 1 tspn vanilla essence
  • ¼ tspn of salt
  • ½ cup of chopped up dark chocolate
  • 8/10 Marie biscuits
  • 30g extra chocolate for topping, with a tblspn of milk

Method:

(Bake at 175C)

  1. In a 20cm x 20cm oven dish, butter the base and set aside.
  2. In a bowl, beat the sugar, softened butter and vanilla together.
  3. Add in your eggs, one at a time and beat thoroughly.
  4. Now, add in all your dry ingredients, and the chopped up chocolate pieces.
  5. Crush up your Marie Biscuits into bite-size pieces, and add this to the chocolatey mixture.
  6. Pour into your oven dish, and bake for 35 – 40 minutes.
  7. Once the brownies have cooled, melt your additional chocolate, with the tablespoon of milk. Brush this over your brownies and allow to set.
  8. Cut into 2.5cm squares and serve as is, or with ice-cream.

 

Enjoy!

