Some days I just really want some KFC, like I basically daydream about it and my mouth starts to water just walking past one of their franchises! But the thing is, that here in Cape Town there have been just too many horror stories about the quality of this particular chicken brand here. And all that aside, the stuff is really jam-packed with calories and not forgetting, who even knows where their chicken comes from? Free-range? I think not.

So, on these days that my body cries for KFC, I make some of my own! Granted, it’s never going to taste exactly like what I want, but I’d say it’s a pretty good alternative instead! Of course, I like almost everything with a bit of a spicy kick, so don’t mind that I add in an extra bit of chilli!

These can be shallow fried in your pan on a medium heat till cooked through, or grilled in your oven at 180 degrees for about 20 minutes. I served mine with some mashed potatoes and celery sticks.

 

Ingredients:

  • 16 chicken strips (pre-cut or two breasts cut into strips)
  • 1 egg

 

(First coating)

  • 2 tblspns Maizena (or regular plain flour)
  • 1 tspn salt
  • 2 tspns barbeque spice (from Spice Mecca)
  • A dash of black pepper
  • A dash of chilli/cayenne powder

 

(Second coating)

  • 2 tblspns plain breadcrumbs
  • 1 tspn salt
  • 2 tspns barbeque spice (from Spice Mecca)
  • A dash of black pepper
  • A dash of chilli/cayenne powder

 

Method:

  1. Mix up all your ingredients from the first coating and roll your chicken strips in the mixture, making sure to coat it evenly. Set this aside for a minimum of 30 minutes.
  2. Mix up all the ingredients of your second coating in a flat bowl. Beat up your egg in a separate flat bowl.
  3. Put your pan on a medium heat and allow to heat up.
  4. Remove your chicken, one piece at a time and dip into the egg, and then into the second coating, allowing the chicken strips to coat evenly in the second coating as well.
  5. Immediately put it in the pan and fry till, golden brown.
  6. Serve with mashed potatoes, fries, or your choice of salad.

Enjoy!

 

