South Africa has long been loved and known by this famous dish, and it’s easy to see why. Minced beef, sweet and savoury flavours and an egg-topping that adds just that extra touch of indulgence – this dish is a winner and it’s not going anywhere! For me, I don’t make it often but when I do, I can’t help but be proud of my Cape Town heritage!

For my Bobobie recipe, I’ve added in yet another Cape Malay love: dhanya (or coriander as it’s called elsewhere). This herb is used in so many of our recipes that it can be found on most street corner fruit vendors. I added this herb into my egg-topping and besides adding some nice colour, it also adds an additional lovely flavour.

I only had about 200 grams of minced beef for this dish and so made the whole dish in a miniature version – just enough for the husband and myself! I also skipped the apricot jam, choosing to eat it with a nice dollop of Mrs Balls chutney instead!

Bobotie with Egg-Dhanya topping

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • ½ green bell pepper
  • 1 tblspoon tomato paste
  • ½ tspn sugar
  • 1 tspn vinegar
  • 1 tspoon crushed garlic
  • ½ tspn cumin powder
  • A sprinkle of chilli powder/ crushed chilli

(For the mince mixture)

  • 200g minced beef
  • ¼ cup breadcrumbs
  • 1 tspn paprika
  • ½ beaten egg
  • ¼ tspn nutmeg
  • ½ tspn mixed herbs
  • 1 tspn crushed garlic
  • Salt and pepper

(For the egg topping)

  • 2 eggs
  • 15ml milk
  • 1 tblspoon cropped coriander leaves

Method:

Oven: 180 degrees

  1. Make a meatball mixture by adding all the mince mixture ingredients together.
  2. In a pan, fry the onion and green onion until translucent, then add the garlic. Add in the tomato paste, sugar, paprika, cumin and chilli.
  3. Add in the mince mixture and cook for about 10 minutes, or until the mince is partially cooked.
  4. In a small oven dish, spoon the mixture into the dish, patting it flat.
  5. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and milk, and add in the chopped coriander,
  6. Pour the egg mixture over the mince,
  7. Bake for 30 minutes, or until golden.

Enjoy!

