So let me just be frank with you guys for it…winter has left me with a few ADDITIONAL centimetres on my thighs that I’m not too pleased about. Blame winter? Yes. Take any personal responsibility? Uhm…no.

I love sweet stuff to the point of almost obsession at times, but sometimes, if we want to (clears throat) prepare to fit into regular summer pants; we ditch the overly buttery biscuits and make sliiiiightly less fatty ones instead!

Also, it’s Friday and the step-kids are coming round, so best I be stocked up on some treats to dip into a nice cuppa tea!

Peanut butter, oats and raisin cookies

Ingredients (makes about 16)

  • 1 cup rolled oats (I used the Jungle Oats Instant as it’s what I have at home)
  • 2 tspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tspoon baking powder
  • ¾ cup of your favourite peanut butter (I used a sugar & salt free one)
  • A pinch of salt
  • ¾ cup sugar/ half cup of honey
  • Two handfuls of raisins
  • 2 tblspoons of butter.

Method:

  1. In a medium sized bowl, beat the egg with the sugar. Add in the peanut butter with a fork and mix together.
  2. To this mixture, add in the oats, baking powder, cinnamon and pinch of salt. Add in the softened butter as well.
  3. Throw in the raisins and mix well. Work those arm muscles!
  4. Let the mixture chill for 20 minutes in the fridge.
  5. With your hands, make small balls with your chilled mixture and then press them flat on lined/sprayed baking trays.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes, on 180 degrees.
  7. The cookies will come out quite soft still, but allow to stand and cool down for 10-15 minutes. They’ll be perfect. Promise.

 

Enjoy!

