As my mother and husband would tell you, the way to my heart is good ol’ plate of dahl! I’ve been eating and loving it since I was a little girl, though this is a plain and easy dish to make.  My mother would always know to make extra, as her three daughters would have at least two plates each!

There’s just something comforting about the simplicity and texture of the dish that makes an always winner. Winter or summer, I love this dish. I have been using my mother’s recipe (with a slight change in recipe) for dahl since I‘ve been married, and never has there been a single spoon of it left over!

 

Dahl (makes 4 servings)

Ingredients:

  • ½ pack of store bought yellow dahl
  • One medium sized onion
  • ½ cube beef stock
  • 1 tspn garlic and ginger (fresh or paste-form)
  • 1 flat tspn of leaf masala
  • Salt

 

Method:

  1. In a medium-sized pot, cook the dahl in hot water for about 30 -45 minutes with the stock cube. Make sure to check on it and stir the pot every five minutes or so. You will know that the dahl is properly cooked through when the texture is smooth and creamy.
  2. Finely dice up the onion and garlic and ginger, if you are using fresh.
  3. In a separate small pot, braise your onion till soft and add in the garlic and ginger.
  4. Add your salt and spices to the onion mixture.
  5. Once your dahl is completely soft, add the onion-mixture to the pot of dal and stir to combine. Your pot should be a deep orange colour by now.
  6. Serve with some fresh white rice, or some homemade bread.

20160824_194813

